BMW announces 2018 IMSA Drivers

Saturday, December 16, 2017

The new BMW M8 GTE will be in action in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship (IWSC) in 2018. In the hands of BMW Team RLL and team principal Bobby Rahal (USA), the new car will make its race debut on the final weekend in January, at the 24 Hours of Daytona. Americans Connor De Phillippi and John Edwards will contest the entire season at the wheel of the two cars. De Phillippi is a newcomer to the BMW Motorsport family. The two regular European drivers are Alexander Sims and former BMW Motorsport Junior Jesse Krohn (FIN). New BMW NA Brand Ambassador Bill Auberlen (USA), Nick Catsburg, Philipp Eng and Augusto Farfus will also drive for the team in endurance races.

Jens Marquardt: “The commitment in North America remains a central pillar of the BMW Motorsport racing programme in 2018. Our partnership with BMW Team RLL is entering its tenth year. To mark the anniversary, Bobby Rahal’s team will race with two new BMW M8 GTEs. In Connor De Phillippi, we have brought another absolute GT specialist into the team. I am also pleased to see our former BMW Motorsport Junior Jesse Krohn promoted to the works programme. At this point, I would like to once again express my respect for Bill Auberlen. No other driver has been as closely associated with BMW as he has. 400 races for one manufacturer – that is unique. It is nice to have him on board at the big races again in 2018.”